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FOOd For Thought Spring 2012

FOOD SERVICE APPLICATIONS AND FEES ARE DUE BY APRIL 30!
DON’T BE LATE!

Along with this newsletter you will have received your 2012 Food Service License
Application. Please review, fill in section 6, and return the application with the
appropriate fees.

« Send in food application by April 30th (make sure postmarked by April 30)

« 50% late fee applied May 1st—May 31st

« 100% late fee applied June 1st

MICHIGAN FOOD SAFTEY

Visit www.michigansafety.com for great charts, posters and infor-
mation. This website was established by the Michigan Restaurant
Association & Michigan Department of Agriculture & Rural Devel-
opment.

FOOD LAW UPDATE

County Executive The Michigan Department of Agriculture and Rural Development
(MDARD) has worked with 45 food industry associations over the
Barbara M. MacGregor, RN BSDN | past year to update Michigan’s food law to adopt the 2009 FDA

Thomas L. Hickner

Health Director Model Food Code. MDARD hopes to have Michigan’s food law up-

dated by fall of 2012. To view the proposed bill and track its pro-

Joel Strasz, Manager gress, visit: Attp.//www.legislature.mi.gov_and search for Bill #
Public Health Services 5130.

SERVSAFE FOOD SAFETY TRAINING
= Class will be held April 24th and 26th, 4:00pm—38:00 pm each day

Environmental Health Staff

Robert M. Hill - Senior Sanitarian

Daniel Dicks, RS, = Fee Not-for-Profit $120, other organizations $150

Sue Gadille. R.S. = Call (989) 895-5-4006 options 3 on how to register
Barry Hugo, RS. = Establishments must have a Person-in-Charge (PIC) certified
Joel Kwiatkowski, R.S. = PIC certifications are valid for 5 years

Joette Phelps, Secretary = Future classes will be held in the fall of 2012

CONSUMER COMPLAINT HOTLINE

Visit our Web site:

If you or your consumers see a food-related problem, please report it
www.baycounty- to MDA Food and Dairy Division at (800) 292-3939 or through the
mi.gov/health MDA web site: www.michigan.gov/mda




PROPER COOLING IS ESSENTIAL

Just as important as it is to attain the proper holding temperature of cooked food, it is essential
to properly cool food as well. Remember the danger zone (41 F-135 F) when you are cooling food
for later use. This range of temperature is the ideal environment for bacteria to grow. Remem-

ber the following rules:

= Food MUST be cooled from 135 F to 70 F in two (2) hours
= Food MUST be cooled from 70 F to 41 F in four (4) hours

= Make big things smaller. Cut larger pieces into smaller pieces

= Pour liquids into shallow pans

= Use ice baths to cool large items

= Be sure to check temperatures all during the cooling process

= Cool foods uncovered and stir or turn the food over to assist in the cooling process

= Food may be put back into large containers AFTER it has cooled to 41 F or less

Remember cooling is an ACTIVE process, it requies constant supervision. You would not walk
away from what you are cooking and forget it, so treat cooling food the same way.

“DO I NEED A TEMPORARY FOOD LICENSE?”

A “Temporary Food Establishment (TFE)” is defined as an
establishment which serves food to the public, and oper-
ates at a fixed location for a temporary period not to ex-
ceed 14 consecutive days. Examples include:

e Food booth at a fair, football game, etc...
e Restaurant preparing food offsite

e C(Catering kitchens not already affiliated with a licensed
establishment

A TFE license is required for all such events. Food pre-
pared in a licensed food facility, transported and served
offsite is not required to obtain a temporary food permit. If
you plan on providing a catering event and you are cook-
ing the food onsite and the facility is not a licensed food-
service facility, you will be required to get a temporary
food license.

Important considerations to ensure a safe event include
planning your menu, estimating the number of meals you
anticipate serving, as well as checking the projected

MICHIGAN SMOKE-FREE LAW

1 Smoking is prohibited in all food
establishments

1 Owner/Manager/Person-in-Charge
are to make sure they are incom-
pliance with the law

1 Bay County Health Department is
responsible for the enforcement of
the law in Bay County

(1 Fines of up to $500 can be levied
for any violations

ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH DIVISION (OFFICE HOURS)
Monday—Friday: 8:00—12:00 & 1:00—5:00 (closed for lunch)

CLOSED on Major Holidays

NOROVIRUS

= Transmitted by infected food han-
dlers or touching contaminated
objects and eating without proper
hand washing

= Known as “Stomach Flu”
= Highly contagious

= Can Be contagious two (2) weeks
after recovery

= Hand washing is best defense

= Symptoms: nausea, vomiting, diar-
rhea and cramps




